Two Kansans Appointed to EPA Federal Advisory Committee

June 24, 2020

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced last week it has reinstated the Farm, Ranch and Rural Communities Committee (FRRCC). Originally established in 2008, FRRCC provides independent policy advice, information and recommendations to the EPA administrator on a range of environmental issues and policies of importance to agriculture and rural communities. 

“One of my priorities for EPA has been to restore trust for our agency among agricultural stakeholders and rural communities,” said EPA Administrator Andrew Wheeler. “President Trump has been clear about the administration’s commitment to agriculture and rural America, and as part of that commitment, I am excited to reinstate the Farm, Ranch and Rural Communities Committee in 2020 with full membership. This committee will provide valuable input on how EPA’s decisions impact rural America, and I look forward to receiving the committee’s recommendations.”  

There are a total of 33 industry representatives on the committee, including Bill Pracht of Westphalia and Jesse McCurry from Colwich. Tom McDonald, with Five Rivers Cattle Feeding LLC, was selected to chair the committee. McDonald also serves as chairman of the NCBA Property Rights & Environmental Management Committee.