EQIP Funds Available For Water Projects In 50 Counties

July 30, 2018

EQIP Funds Available For Water Projects In 50 CountiesThe Kansas Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) office announced last week the availability of special Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP) cost-share funds for certain projects that address livestock water shortages. These funds are available in the 50 counties Gov. Jeff Colyer designated in the most recent drought declaration.

Projects may include financial assistance for installation and materials for pipelines; electric, wind and solar powered pumps; and new ponds. EQIP assistance will not be available for projects started or completed prior to application, but applicants may request waivers to initiate necessary practices before a contract is funded. The application evaluation cutoff period will be August 24, 2018, with contract funding to occur shortly after.

Producers should contact their local NRCS service center for more information. The EQIP water source program applies to the following counties: Barber, Barton, Butler, Chase, Clark, Clay, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellsworth, Finney, Ford, Geary, Grant, Gray, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Lincoln, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Morris, Morton, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Sedgwick, Seward, Shawnee, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner and Wabaunsee.