Kansas Ranchers Reappointed To Beef Board

January 7, 2019

USDA has announced the appointment of 35 cattle producers to the Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion and Research Board. The group includes two Kansans, Randall Debler of Alma and DJ Edwards from Hamilton, who were reappointed and will serve three-year terms.            

Debler is a cow-calf producer. Edwards is a cow-calf producer and stocker operator.            

Kansas has six seats on the Beef Board. The other members are Byron Lehman of Newton, Beth Patterson from Yates Center, Phil Perry of Oskaloosa and Trista Priest from Satanta.            

The 100-member Beef Board oversees collection of the $1.00-per-head checkoff and approves the annual budget for national checkoff-funded programs.